Congratulations to Elkhart General Hospital for earning The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval® and the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Heart-Check mark for Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers!

The hospital underwent a rigorous onsite review during which Joint Commission experts evaluated compliance with stroke-related standards and requirements, including program management, the delivery of clinical care and performance improvement.

“Elkhart General Hospital has thoroughly demonstrated the greatest level of commitment to the care of stroke patients through its Advanced Certification for Primary Stroke Centers,” said Patrick Phelan, executive director, Hospital Business Development, The Joint Commission. “We commend Elkhart General for becoming a leader in stroke care, potentially providing a higher standard of service for stroke patients in its community.”

José Luis López, MD, Medical Director of the Beacon Health System Neurohospitalist and Stroke Programs, said the certification is the result of a dedicated interdisciplinary stroke committee, a supportive administrative team and the hard work of clinical teams and staff across the hospital.

“This achievement highlights our commitment to providing timely and exceptional stroke care to all members of our community, and to continually strive to advance the availability of innovative and quality care to patients with cerebrovascular disease,” said
Dr. López.

Elkhart General also recently received recognition by the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association with a Get With The Guidelines®-Stroke Silver Quality Achievement Award and Target Stroke Honor Roll award.

Elkhart General Hospital Stroke Program Interdisciplinary Team

Core Stroke Team

José Luis López, MD
Neurohospitalist and Beacon Health System Stroke Program Medical Director

Kyle Berry, RN
Stroke Program Coordinator

Janice Eigsti, RN
Nursing Educator Critical Care, Progressive Care/Stroke Unit, Short Stay Unit and Intermediate Care Center

Stroke Program Interdisciplinary Team

Edwin Annan, MD
Intensivist Physician

LuAnn Babcock, RN
Nursing Educator, Emergency Department

Michelle BonDurant
Director, Laboratory

Tonia Collins, NP

Darra Cover, PharmD
Manager, Clinical Pharmacy

Connie Dobson, RN
Director, Intermediate Care Center and Stroke Program Coordinator

Jessica Gingerich, MSN, NP-C, CCRN
Director of Critical Care, Progressive Care, and Chronic Disease Management Clinic

Tammy Hayes
Director, Rehabilitation Services

Lee Herschberger, RN
Manager, Medical Staff Services

Donald Jansen, MD
Vice President, Medical Affairs

Heather Kistka, MD

Chris McFarland
EMS Coordinator

Renee Miller, RN
Director, Nursing Education and Short Stay Unit

William Molen
Executive Director, Radiology

Mark Quiring, MD
Emergency Physician

Renee Rorie, RN
Interim Manager & Shift Coordinator, Emergency Department

Joseph Schnittker, MD

Lorna Stahler, RN
Director, Inpatient Rehabilitation and Total Joint Unit

Sana Zuberi, MD
Hospitalist Physician